What Harmonica?

UkEdman90

Reaction score
So i want a harmonica guys! REALLY BAD! i want to play along with my uke! so can anyone point me in the right direction to a nice harmonica? you know beginner ones preferably a diatonic. thanks!

-Don

Here's a good basic review: http://www.ianchadwick.com/essays/harmonicas.htm
I'm just a beginner Harmonicaist (real word?). Start with a decent C key, I like my Suzuki East Rider, though bang for the buck hard to beat a Japan made (by Tombo) Lee Oskar.

I play harmonica way better then I play uke and I have not practiced harmonica in years. Best harmonica I ever owned for playability is a Suzuki Pro master MR 350. The reeds bend like butter. The Pro master series ain't cheap but this line http://www.harmonicasandstuff.com/suzuki-diatonic/suzuki-harpmaster-harmonica-mr-200.html is not bad and it has many fans. I can't compare the harpmaster series to what Hohner harmonicas you will find in your local music stare as I have never played harpmaster.

I can tell you this though. I learned on cheap Hohners and every thing I can do on my Pro master, I could do on my Hohners. It was harder on the Hohners but in a way that is a good thing. Had I learned bends on the Suzuki, i doubt I could pull it off on any other harmonica.

I love my Suzuki but I recomend learning on a low end harmonica. If you can do it on a low end, you can do it on anything.

Luck with your choice.

Get a "Hohner Special 20"....They take a beating, which is important for a beginner. They also have a plastic body, which is a good thing, as the wooden ones swell...crack...and rip your lips up.

Special 20's can also be disassembled easily for cleaning, and can be dunked in a glass of water(or beer) before playing.....helps to bend your notes.

You'll need to buy several keys. If your playing "straight harp"... folksy, Dylan, Neil Young kinda stuff.....you'll buy a key to match the key of the tune, like if it's a C F G progression...you'd buy a "C" harp.