Tuning Posts with Open Slots on Top

katysax

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I bought the Compass Rose Concert that showed up on HMS a couple of weeks ago and it just arrived.

It came with a low G and I had expected high G. I played it about five minutes, popped off the A string to start restringing and discovered there were no holes through the posts but a slot on top of the post. I've never seen this before so I looked on the web and discovered that this is a vintage type tuner. Now I've been playing guitar for 50 years and this is the first time I've seen this, but it does appear to be something that has been used.

Well I could not get the Southcoast Medium string I was trying to use to stick. It just kept popping out. There were some videos on the web about how to string these things, but it wasn't working for me. I finally decided the string was too thin and went back to the A string it came with, which worked just fine. The strings seemed like Nylgut or Nyltech. I found a Nyltech high G and ended up just changing out the one string.

Has anyone seen tuners like this. This seems to be what Rick Turner uses on the Compass Rose. I can't figure out what. They are a real pain. I'm seriously thinking of changing out the tuners to something with holes in the post.

I bought the Compass Rose Concert that showed up on HMS a couple of weeks ago and it just arrived.

It came with a low G and I had expected high G. I played it about five minutes, popped off the A string to start restringing and discovered there were no holes through the posts but a slot on top of the post. I've never seen this before so I looked on the web and discovered that this is a vintage type tuner. Now I've been playing guitar for 50 years and this is the first time I've seen this, but it does appear to be something that has been used.