Who says ukulele's are small maybe guitars are just big!

smgold101

Reaction score
So I used to dabble (and i mean at its minimum) on guitar and even bass some. So obviously i'm still very new at uke but its literally all i do...like i don't understand how my roommate haven't shattered it into a million pieces by now. But anyways so I'm on break and me and my friends went to guitar center and I tried playing on some of their acoustic guitars and two things...idk so used to my uke that I felt the guitar was HUGE like ukes are more comfortable to play in my opinion and then when trying to just fool around and play some stuff i couldn't remember any of it! Like nothing at all...lol Did anyone else have this issue switching from uke to guitar and vice versa?

Thanks
Seth

Hahaha. An endless debate. I like both but am definitely devoted to my ukuleles vs my (1) guitar. Some music noobs and a few guitar people crack on the uke like it's a joke. Lot of that comes from the Tiny Tim days way back. Hell the fewer people that play.....I'm ok with that. I dont want to see it get to ingrained in pop culture so that we all here about the "uke fad" that is going on. Anyway....I hear ya.

In my rambling I forgot to answer. Yeah, if I don't pick up the guitar regularly....it all slips away. Thats one reason I may pick up a bari because it strung DBGE like the bottom 4 strings of the guitar. That my help my retention some.

I actually played a small guitar before picking up the uke, so I can say that the ukulele is nothing of the sort. :cool:

That said, I never learned anything worthwhile on guitar, so my transition was smooth as silk.

i agree. i have 4 ukes. and 1 guitar. although i love the mellow tone of the guitar. my ukulele's are my first love.