Pekelo uke books?

Recstar24

Reaction score
Would love some feedback on the pekelo books. I have loved and learned so much from Aaron keim's fingerstyle book but I've played through it all many times and looking for a new challenge. I've always been a book learner as a student, and the pekelo books appear up my alley.

I have the mark Nelson Mel bay book but it might be just a bit of a stretch ability wise at the moment. However I'm a classically trained musician and music educator so I understand and am very proficient in music theory.

Pekelo offers a book 1 and 2 - would book 1 be too easy for my background, or are the books meant to be purchased as a set and done as a sequence?

I went through both books maybe the second year I was playing - they are really, really good! But do keep in mind they are arranged for low G - if you're not into that, then they may not be for you.

It's been a while since I've seen them but if my memory is correct, Book 1 has some challenging stuff in it that might be just about right for you if you consider the Mark Nelson book a bit of a stretch. I'd suggest getting both because as long as you keep playing, you'll eventually grow into the second one.

Thank you for the comments. The mark Nelson book is great, but I know where I am at ability wise and while it is a good challenge that is within my grasp, I can feel there is a level right below it where I would be more successful. Sounds like book 1 is right in the gap, and will be a little more difficult than the Aaron keim book.

Thanks for this thread. I need to check out the Mark Nelson book as well as the Pekelo books.

Thank you for the comments. The mark Nelson book is great, but I know where I am at ability wise and while it is a good challenge that is within my grasp, I can feel there is a level right below it where I would be more successful. Sounds like book 1 is right in the gap, and will be a little more difficult than the Aaron keim book.