Still not sure where to start - My Ukulele/Charango Dilemma

clarkking

Reaction score
Now I am more confused about the decision to learn the ukulele, charango, or classical guitar. I have had a very informative conversation with a charango dealer in the US, in which he discouraged me from making an effort to learn the charango given that I have no real experience with a fretted instrument. On one hand I can appreciate that he didn’t just use me to make sale but rather gave me very honest advice I feel. My ultimate goal is to play the charango I have no doubts about this. However given my lack of experience with fretted instruments I suppose I’m still not sure where to start. I have fallen in love with the tenor ukulele and have narrowed that search down to two that I would purchase. But now I am wondering if I should start by learning classical guitar first then move to the charango or should I start with the ukulele and move to the charango? Even though the ukulele and charango are very different instruments tuning and chord shapes are similar between the uku and charango so that is why that path may be best.

What are your opinions, at this point I’m just ready to make a decision and move on it and start learning!

Thank you

Watch as many of these tutorials as you can and then decide for yourself. I have no experience with a charango, but not sure it's harder than a guitar. Also, there are alternate tunings for it as well as different variations of the charango. Perhaps much more than you thought:

https://www.google.com/#safe=active&q=youtube+how+to+play+charango

Note in this Wiki article that variations exist (fewer strings, size) but still give you the sound you want. Another 10 string instrument you may also want to investigate is the tiple (pronounced by many as teeplay):

https://www.google.com/#safe=active&q=youtube+how+to+play+charango

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiple

Last edited: