owning 2 ukes the "same size"

julieuke1978

Reaction score
I've been playing the ukulele for almost 2 years. I am quite addicted to this beautiful instrument. I currently have a Kala soprano. I have a need to be able to plug in with a pickup. Through a series of comical events I have ended up with 2 acoustic electric ukuleles for my birthday. Logic would seem to state that I should return one. In one short day I have grown quite attached to both and can't seem to give one back. They aren't top of the line, but after trying many, I really like them... Help me be logical or justify my ukulele addiction... Here is info on the 2

Kala STE-C- tenor- Spruce top, mahogany sides/bace, shadow EQ. I love the look of this one. Great sound, and fun to play

Gretsch long neck concert uke- I like the sound of this one a bit better, it has a fishman pickup, which I understand is a bit better than the shadow one

Logic says I should return the Kala....

Will your family suffer if you keep them? So long as keeping them isn't detrimental to any relationships, not to mention they were both gifts, why get rid of one? Enjoy them, play them. If you need a better reason, tune one up to D or maybe down to G, which would definitely require a strings change but that's another topic. If having 3 ukes is your worst vice, I wouldn't worry about it.

I concur. Gretsch is groovy. :shaka: And I wouldn't worry about the givers feelings.

I'm always impressed at how seldom true gifts are ever given. Once a true gift is given the giver relinquishes all control over what happens to the gift given. Or it was never a gift. Gifts never have strings attached. Strings are much more appropriate for ukuleles.

Last edited:
If you have a need to be able to plug in, it's good to have a backup uke that can serve that purpose if something happens to the top uke. If you feel you have to get rid of one, maybe you should consider selling the soprano.