So I spent some time making these ukuleles...

Yankulele

Reaction score
It's my first attempt with limited tools and experience. What can I do to improve on them?

These were both built following the Hana Lima construction manual. I had a problem with the tail blocks bulging out the sound boards (which were originally douglas fir) as the sides shrunk, but the tail blocks (long grain front to back) did not. I removed the fret boards and sound boards, chiseled out the tail blocks and replaced them with blocks with the grain running the other way. While I had the fret boards off, I added carbon fiber rods.

The maple ukulele is birds eye maple and pau rosa. The walnut is walnut, figured maple, pau rosa, and lutz spruce.

Finish is shellac, french polished, although I have to confess to cheating a bit with the final spiriting off part and using Meguiars mirror glaze.

IMG_0200.jpgIMG_0203.jpgIMG_0206.jpgIMG_0208.jpgIMG_0196.jpg

Okay, New Guy, I just figured out the next post will have the pictures of the walnut one. I think.

Walnut...

Here are the walnut uke picks.

Thanks,

Yankulele

Attachments

• IMG_0243.jpg
    IMG_0243.jpg
    82.9 KB · Views: 112
  • IMG_0244.jpg
    IMG_0244.jpg
    83.8 KB · Views: 126
  • IMG_0247.jpg
    IMG_0247.jpg
    89.9 KB · Views: 110
  • IMG_0249.jpg
    IMG_0249.jpg
    91.9 KB · Views: 116
  • IMG_0250.jpg
    IMG_0250.jpg
    84.1 KB · Views: 107
Props for taking apart your first uke.
There shouldn't have been any shrinkage anywhere if your wood was seasoned, unless the tail block swelled from the glue you used.
Looks good, does it play good?
Also, there is no cheating. There is only getting the results you were working toward. If you got'em, you did good.

Thanks for the kind words. As far as shrinkage, the wood was seasoned, but I glued it up in the fall, and did not keep a humidifier in the case. I believe the sides shrunk as the heat came on and the air dried out here in the northeast winter.