PDA

View Full Version : 8 Strings --> 4 Strings??



rclifford13
03-13-2009, 02:54 AM
Hi,
There is an 8 string Kamaka tenor uke on sale at the moment, and I was wondering...
Is it possible to take 4 strings off and use the uke as a normal 4 string tenor ukulele? Or will the strings be in the wrong positions?

Thanks a lot!
Rob :)

deach
03-13-2009, 03:11 AM
Yes
http://cgi.ebay.com/KAMAKA-8-STRING-TENOR-UKE-UKULELE-W-BUILT-IN-PICKUP_W0QQitemZ180334870294QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_ DefaultDomain_0?hash=item180334870294&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50

and yes, you can make a 4-stringer without a problem.

rclifford13
03-13-2009, 03:16 AM
Thanks Deach!
Would it be in any way different to a normal 4 string (i.e. the string placings) as I do not want to buy it then find there are irregular gaps between the strings. I tried doing this exact thing with a mandolin and it didn't really work (although the mandolin was $20. lol.)

Has anyone ever tried this before?

haole
03-13-2009, 06:18 AM
I string my 12-string guitar as a six sometimes with no problems. The string spacing will be a little wonky depending on the instrument, but it's possible to get used to it. Otherwise, it's easy enough to change the nut over.

wearymicrobe
03-13-2009, 08:47 AM
because its a tie bridge its pretty easy to send it out and have the 4 string holes drilled and have the nut replaced. But the headstock is significantly heaver on a 8 string which is something most people have trouble with.

haolejohn
03-13-2009, 09:34 AM
because its a tie bridge its pretty easy to send it out and have the 4 string holes drilled and have the nut replaced. But the headstock is significantly heaver on a 8 string which is something most people have trouble with.

I own a Mele 6 string and the head's weight was the hardest thing to get used to.

I also know that Mele makes their 8 stringers where they can be strung as a four stringer with no difference other than the head's weight and I would assume Kamaka would do the same thing.

tiki_ink
03-13-2009, 09:43 AM
Why would you want to turn an 8 string into a 4 string? That defeats the purpose.

Kanaka916
03-13-2009, 10:07 AM
Exactly what I was gonna ask - Why? An 8 string Kamaka has a sound of it's own. My dos centavos. But you're paying out the bucks and you can do whatever you want.

wearymicrobe
03-13-2009, 10:59 AM
I own a Mele 6 string and the head's weight was the hardest thing to get used to.



Tell me about it, one of my 8 string Kanile'as weights we much on the headstock that I am having it drilled for a strap. I refuse to order sealed tuners because of the weight difference the opens its not such a big deal until you get to a 8.

Heck I sold the Ogata because of this and the super heavy large headstock, even though it was a fine playing instrument.

rclifford13
03-13-2009, 01:06 PM
Exactly what I was gonna ask - Why? An 8 string Kamaka has a sound of it's own. My dos centavos. But you're paying out the bucks and you can do whatever you want.

Actually, the Kamaka for sale is a lot cheaper than a new 4 string tenor Kamaka - that's why I was wondering, as it could save me a lot of money.