Five String U-Bass

katysax

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
Five String U-Bass - NOT - OH MY

New Content:

Well I took the 5 string uBass to my ukulele group. So far the attempt was a fail. I was able to get the strings to even out quite a bit by using a new higher quality compression pedal than I had before, but even though I had been able to play the 5 string practicing by myself, when I got with the group my instincts started taking over - and they were wrong.

However, the big thing was that my fantasy that I'd like the lower notes was kind of a bust. I really didn't care for the sound that much with that mix of instruments. I ended up switching back to the four string which was oh so much more comfortable. I'm still going to experiment with the five string a bit. But I guess there is no harm in preferring to play four strings.
_______
On its way to me is a Kala California Five String U-Bass. I'm very excited; I've been playing the U-Bass for a couple of years with various ukulele groups. After about a year with the Sub U-Bass I got the California model because I was frustrated with the cheap construction of the Sub U-Bass but enjoyed playing the solid body more than the acoustic.

I have loved dearly the California U-Bass. Quality is excellent. Sound is great, feel is fantastic. Looks beautiful. Weight and balance are perfect. And I've never been attracted to extra strings on a bass. In the past I've experimented with things like 12 string guitar and generally I'm a believer that fewer strings are better. But lately I've been "hearing" possibilities of adding the low G and I've been wanting to try it.

Kala just came out with a new 5 string Sub-U-Bass and I was considering it, but ever since I got my California U-Bass I haven't wanted to play the Asian made one. I found a used five string California and it is on its way to me. I'm really looking forward to trying it with some ukulele players.