6 vs. 8 String Uke -- Different Voice/Tuning

UkeParent

Reaction score
Hello,

I would like to get either a 6-string or 8-string tenor uke. I am not a beginner but not skilled, so I would like it to be in the sub-$200 range. I like the fuller sound of these ukes. The octaves make them sound very rich, almost like a 12-string guitar.

I have a few questions.

1. In general, why are the 6 and 8-strings tuned so differently? The 8-string ukulele has the highest pitched strings tuned in unison, and the lower pitched strings tuned to octaves. The 6-string ukulele has only the 1st (A) and 3rd(C) strings doubled, the rest in unison.

2. Which of these tunings "makes more sense"? How would you compare/contrast the voices of these tunings?

3. Can one tune a 6-string like an 8, by having octaves on the G and C and having the E and A in unison?

3. It appears both 6 and 8-strings make it harder to fingerpick. Does one or the other of the above typical tunings make it any easier to fingerpick?

4. I like to use barre chords. Which style, and which tuning, would lend itself more to this kind of play?

5. Finally, any suggestions for good starter ukes with either 6 or 8 strings? (I guess there are 5-string ukes, too...)

Thanks!

Hello,

I would like to get either a 6-string or 8-string tenor uke. I am not a beginner but not skilled, so I would like it to be in the sub-$200 range. I like the fuller sound of these ukes. The octaves make them sound very rich, almost like a 12-string guitar.

I have a few questions.

1. In general, why are the 6 and 8-strings tuned so differently? The 8-string ukulele has the highest pitched strings tuned in unison, and the lower pitched strings tuned to octaves. The 6-string ukulele has only the 1st (A) and 3rd(C) strings doubled, the rest in unison.

2. Which of these tunings "makes more sense"? How would you compare/contrast the voices of these tunings?