2 little problems (or mistake)

Ahcaramel

Reaction score
Hi, i was wondering if it normal that i have real struggle with the D chords.

i have a KALA KA-S ukelele*

I checked a lot of method to get it right but... still real problem

1. i need more practice ( of course haha)
2. may the soprano size doesn't fit me at all ?
3. should i buy another one already even if i'm a beginner

and my second question is i have problem holding the ukulele when i'm changing : Em to G or D to G. It like my uke is always dropping in my hand and I have to hold it or replace it every time.

I was questionning myself if i should buy strap button or something alike.

I know it some newby question but i would be really gateful to any advice

Thank you and have a good evening :)

This is too hard to explain in text. I will make you a quick video tomorrow.

I swivel my fretting hand toward the headstock a little so it is in the crook of my thumb and forefinger. I do not have big hands. Works for me.

I was pretty frustrated with holding the ukulele when I started out, and trying to support the neck made chording harder. It'll be easier once your finger strength improves, but what fixed it for me, and made the ukulele fun to play, was getting a Uke Leash. They're inexpensive, too.

I looked at the beginner video and really help me !
i know it pretty hard to explain in text

i may buy a uke leash i checked after i read Mivo :)
and it sure that my finger will get stronger ( i hope haha)
thank for the advice !
I've done i little video to show my inexperience haha ( but i'm not sure i can't post is on the forum directly )

*I'll put the video on youtube and make a link ( won't be too long)

Last edited:
20150623_091300.jpg

Don't be hesitant to use a strap, even on a soprano. It is all very personal and whatever you like is the correct choice. I have them on soprano thru to baritone.