Favorite Strings for Mahogany Ukes

Fleacia

Reaction score
Opine away... That's what this thread is for!

I've searched and can't find exactly what I'm looking for: recommendations for strings that get the best and most sound out of a mahogany concert and mahogany tenor uke. They're Mainlands, for reference. I prefer low G, but other opinions are welcome!

I don't have the tenor yet. The concert is currently strung with Oasis Warms, with a La Bella polished wound low G. I prefer unwound strings, but use others as well.

So tell me please, what are your favorite strings to make your mahogany uke sing?

Thank you! :)

This is like asking about which brand tire or oil to use on a motorcycle or car forum, at least with oil I can point you to a lab for testing. Since working with people and their sight as a professional tattoo artist I quickly learned not everyone sees the same. It wasn't too far of a mental jump to realize this difference extends to all the senses.

Now hearing as well as your sense of touch are all being brought to the equation as well as prediction. What other strings have you tried on the concert? I happen to have fallen in love with Aquila reds myself on my KA-SEM.

Good Luck

I like Martin's M600 strings on my mahogany soprano, but I haven't tried a whole lot of strings on it (Nylguts, some no-name fluorocarbon, and Worth clears). I plan on trying Worth browns on it in a while, depending on how I like them on the inbound tenor. But like IAL wrote, it's totally a matter of preference and very subjective.

Yes, I know what I'm asking... I.e. the subjective can of worms I've opened up here. But I also asked for opinions. So subjectivity aside, you like what you like, and I want to know what that is. I don't have access to many types of strings locally, so whatever I want to try must be ordered. I thought if I had a list, I could at least have an order large enough to qualify for free shipping somewhere. :D

Thanks for the responses so far!