A tale of two NUDs...

robedney

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
This is longish, but hopefully helpful to someone. The summary is: KPK uke exceeds expectations in every way. Rubin uke did not (beware).

So, my first uke was an Ohana CK-10 -- a perfectly respectable and cheap laminate concert bought at my local brick and mortar music store. You know it doesn't end there. I started learning to play (with a big thanks to Aaron Keim and his books) and got hooked. I'm also a luthier (we make carbon fiber violins) and I have a passion for real wood. So begins the web browsing, UU searching, etc.

Which leads to two new acquisitions:

The first is a Koa Pili Koko (known as KPK hereabouts) concert. I spent the extra few bucks and ordered the deluxe with some added bling. I think I spent $220 (which included free shipping and a gig bag). The instrument came on time, very well packed and exceeded my expectations in every way. This is a very well made instrument, the set-up was spot-on for me and the sound is worlds better than the Ohana. The body is solid acacia (koa cousin) with very well selected wood. Book-matching is not perfect but pretty close. A long time ago (in a distant galaxy) I worked with a lot of native Hawaiian koa and know the wood well. The acacia is pretty much a dead ringer for the stuff (at least visually).

Out came the inspection light and mirror. I had a thorough look around the interior, which is very tidy and nicely finished. No globs of glue, no rough work or shortcuts (particularly shortcuts you can't normally see through the sound hole). Braces all nicely shaped and finished.