basic string gauge question having to do with nut and bridge

Erwin Dink

Reaction score
I've got three ukes and just ordered a fourth. I hope to settle in to having two of them be my primary instruments, one Tenor and one Baritone. Since I'm still fairly new to ukuleles I have been doing a lot of experimenting with strings and tunings. What is just dawning on me is that nuts and bridges seem to be somewhat customized for particular string gauges. What do people do about this? Create custom nuts and bridges? Only use strings that are close matches to the original nuts and bridges?

An example that I mentioned in another thread is that I just restrung a uke and discovered that two of the strings are not sitting well into their slots. Is there a common way to deal with this challenge?

What is just dawning on me is that nuts and bridges seem to be somewhat customized for particular string gauges. What do people do about this? Create custom nuts and bridges? Only use strings that are close matches to the original nuts and bridges?

An example that I mentioned in another thread is that I just restrung a uke and discovered that two of the strings are not sitting well into their slots. Is there a common way to deal with this challenge?

All options are open ;)

Personally, I file the slots out to suit thicker strings where necessary. If I then later find the slot is wrong, due either to mistake or a change of mind, I shim/fill it with a sliver of plastic held in with superglue and start again.

Some use a mixture of baking soda and superglue as a filler ... I've not tried that but have been recommended that route by a professional guitar technician.