Buying an uke in Japan?

jwedge20

Reaction score
Hello hello!

I am just wondering if anyone here has any insights into the ukulele market in Japan. I am very new to the ukulele - been goofing around for a couple months - but I think I'm definitely hooked...and therefore ready to invest in a higher quality instrument than the cheapo Hilo I have.

Sweet! The problem is that I am moving to Japan in a week and I'll be there for a year at least. I've been told that I should buy a new uke while I'm still in the States because they will be much more expensive in Japan...

So my question is: is this true? Are there places to buy ukuleles in Japan for reasonable prices? Or should I hurry up and buy one before I leave?

There are several members who reside in Japan; keonepax, UkeNinja are the first names that came to me.

I would guess it depends on what you want. Probably pay more for a Hawaiian made ukulele there since they're gold there but I'm guessing a quality Kiwaya made in Japan would be a tad cheaper there. From what I gather the import duty is pretty stiff in Japan so any KALA or Ohana uke would cost more the Japanese doing this to protect local economy. I hear the laminate pineapple Kiwaya sounds amazingly good and not a bad price.

Stores here usually can not match the deals you guys get in the US, especially if you count online stores such as MGM and others. Like Ahnko Honu says, what do you want to get? Check for prices at one of the big general music stores, Kurosawa Gakki (I arranged the list from cheap to expensive) to get an idea.

This is assuming you go to Tokyo. There are plenty of stores with loads of ukes from Mahalo to Martin and everything in between. Outside the capital, there is much less choice.

P.S. and last golden tip: if you can wait until the yen goes down into the cellar again, buy with converted U$D and you may have a deal.

Last edited: