My practise routine!

autojoy

Reaction score
Hello! :) How are you all today?

I'm really enjoying playing our ukulele!! My background is that I started a few years ago, but hit a brick wall (not literally...) with my playing and stopped for a while. I picked up again about two weeks ago & I've been scouring the internet this time to help me out! I'm having WAY more fun!

Here is the routine(s) I am using at the moment to help me progress:

- Mike Lynch Finger Strengthening Exercises: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pse641zHpP8

- Major Scales (so far got CMajor, C# & DMajor quite good and clean, will progress onwards!) liveukulele.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/Major-Scales.pdf

- Art of Arpeggios for Ukulele by Sam Muir (first four going quite well! Will progress onwards!) https://gumroad.com/l/artofarpeggios

- Uncle Rod's Ukulele Boot Camp (Key of C only so far, these are hard to transition smoothly and cleanly for me!) http://ukulelebootcamp.weebly.com/

- Started doing some suggested easy strumming rhythms, and I'm learning to chunk/chuck, which I am finding quite hard and keep accidentally playing the strings instead of muting them, haha.

How does this look to you...? Am I hitting the right bases as a beginner? Should I be adding anything else...? I am finding my little finger's reach isn't too bad but it likes to "flatten" itself out at the first knuckle - especially when using the g & C strings - instead of curving strongly around like the rest of my fingers? This will just come with practise, right...? :)

Thank you for reading and in advance for any suggestions offered! :eek:

Sounds like a great practice routine, Kate!

I hadn't heard of Art of Arpeggios for Ukulele by Samantha Muir yet, so thanks for pointing that out. How would you rate the difficulty? I had written to her about her other booklets, and she mentioned they were for intermediate and advanced players. Is this one on the same level?