Kala KA-TG Ukulele ( Southernukulelestore)

Naiad

Reaction score
Hello all

Looking at this as my first Uke!I play guitar but so enjoyed a recent uke concert I've got to have one!I am a novice uke player but now I'm retired I have time to learn the chord shapes,strumming patterns etc.
Your comments regarding suitability and possible alternatives would be most welcome I think I will have the low G tuning for the bluesy stuff.

Looking forward to your comments

PS Southern ukes have said they wil fit the low G string & set the uke up before despatch etc

Where you based?
Find a local group and join them, lots of help in the switch over from guitar to Uke?
Have you tried the other sizes? Try the various sizes before you buy to see what you like best. (Baritone is close to guitar, strung as guitar, not my dog has fleas! Sopranos are plinky plinky as you'd expect a uke to be, tenors are deeper voiced, more guitar like than soprano.)
Rod's boot camp is recommended for learning the chord shapes and names, foc download from here:
http://ukulelebootcamp.weebly.com/
I believe, (Sweeping statement alert!) the general consensus is that low G is great for fingerpicking, but not so good strummed, Your mileage may vary. Not a fingerpicker so cannot say for sure.
For early blues/ragtime, check out Del Rey and Adam Franklin, who supports Del in the UK. Another great blues player is Manitoba Hal.
h