Total Beginners Thoughts/Blog, Progress Thread etc

Purdy Bear

Reaction score
As I'm a complete beginner with the Ukulele, I thought it would be a good idea to do a thread where I put down my progress. Not just for me to see how far I've come, but also for others following afterwards.

Yesterday I had my first 30 minute lesson with a local guitar teacher, who runs a Ukulele group. He showed me the 3 first cords (C, F ,G7) and how to hold the Uke etc. The Ukulele I'm playing is a very cheap £14 model from Ebay called Sun Wolf with Aquila strings (its purple to go along with my womenly nature, and easy to spot).

Today is my first lesson with You Tube etc.

Lesson 1
The 5 effective strumming methods, on YT. I enjoyed this, but I found working out where the upstroke went was a little boggling. I need to write it down and follow it as his playing. The last two completely lost me, so lots to practice there.

I then went on to learning the C, and the F, going from one to the other and back again, making sure my fingers were in the right position on the neck, but also that I was using the pads of the fingers. I need to cut my nails right down on that hand. They are short, but not short enough.

The lesson is noted down on a spread sheet with problems, good bits and comments, so I can look back this afternoon or tomorrow to see where I need to work from.

On a side note, I've started to keep a small pocket notebook, so I can put all the bits I want in it, and travel with it, so I can learn in those lost times we all have (ie waiting for buses or the like).

Here's the video I used, just to make some noise:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAScCO3Mb-w

NB I will repeat this lesson until it goes smoothly and then move on to the next. The reading matter is the book called 'Ukulele for Dummies' is for the off time when I want to do something but have sore fingers or the like.

Last edited: