Painting a ukulele

Reaction score
Hey guys! So I've done my research and I am still not super confident on how to go about painting a cheap uke. So from what I've read these are the steps I have come up with:
•Sand the cheap paint off
•Apply a bonding primer
•Then paint with acrylic paint
•After it dries apply 2 or 3 coats of clear coat
Have I missed any steps? Also what grits of sandpaper would ya'll recommend?
I'm a total newbie at this so if you guys have any other tips please share!
Here's the uke I plan to customize: https://www.long-mcquade.com/10580/...Instruments/Yorkville_Sound/Ukulele_-_Red.htm

Last edited:
If this was a mandolin forum, members would be up in arms. Desecration! But painting 'ukes is okay. I'd like to see some Big Daddy Roth / Rat Fink 'ukes. Or maybe Zuñi cosmic designs. Or some Van Gogh. Or Any Warhol -- yeah a soup-can 'uke would be about right. Maybe some Alley Oop cartoons. The sky's the limit, yah?

Hey guys! So I've done my research and I am still not super confident on how to go about painting a cheap uke. So from what I've read these are the steps I have come up with:
•Sand the cheap paint off
•Apply a bonding primer
•Then paint with acrylic paint
•After it dries apply 2 or 3 coats of clear coat
Have I missed any steps? Also what grits of sandpaper would ya'll recommend?
I'm a total newbie at this so if you guys have any other tips please share!
Here's the uke I plan to customize: https://www.long-mcquade.com/10580/...Instruments/Yorkville_Sound/Ukulele_-_Red.htm

I've never heard of that brand, so no idea if it's playable out of the box, but at that price, you are taking a gamble...

You could save yourself the first 2 steps by starting with a white uke that is designed to be decorated, as per:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/folk.../kohala-soprano-ukulele-with-markable-surface