Summer's half gone....got a project in mind?

Good idea turtle, such a beautiful song and sounds so lovely on the uke. :)

My goal over August - and probably September and beyond, knowing my attention span - is to work out how to get better audio on my ukulele videos. I've been using the same $50 camera for 5 years and the sound just don't cut it. Being a tech dunce this will present more than enough of a challenge to keep me busy! I was blessed to receive a beautiful Rode mic last week as a gift, so I would like to make good use of it.

I'm still trying to come to grips with my Kala KA6 6-string tenor and the old Martin 10-string tiple. They're both killers in similar but opposite ways. Re-entrant 4-string 'ukes are no problem; they play like 'ukes. The 8-string tenor (gG-cC-EE-AA) and 12-string cuatro-menor (GGG-CCC-EEE-AAA) are no problem; like the baritone (DGBE), they can play like guitars, sort of. But the tiple and KA6 aren't balanced that way. Unless strumming, they can only be played like themselves. It's due to stringing. The KA6 is g-cC-E-Aa so the lowest note is on top; and the tiple is gG-cCc-eEe-aa so the top course is weak next to the lower courses. Neither lets me run melodies simple across the top 2 courses.

What's my project for August? Keep adapting fingerpicking techniques for these beasts. Try to master them. Down, you dogs!

And it probably wouldn't hurt to shoot some videos, too. My public awaits.

I have a small studio setup. I have a Tascam 8 channel recording station and M Audio monitors. I have done a fair amount of recording using my digital keyboards. I've never gotten around to recording myself on uke. I don't think I'll get to that this summer. I will be retired starting next July and would probably start recording then. Till then it's practice, practice, practice!!