Not a typical student- where should I start?

whistleman123

Reaction score
I used to be a professional trombonist out in Lost Wages Nevada but due to a facial injury had to give that up in the early 1970's. Now that I'm retired I want to make music again. I have never attempted a stringed instrument.
So I know music, just not stringed instruments. Short term goal would be comping jazz changes. Long term goal is chord soloing.
Should I start taking lesson at my local music store or teach myself off of the internet? Do I need a foundation before I download the Jazzy Uke book? Are there a lot of pitfalls in self-instruction? Bad habits not to learn. Etc...

PS I already picked up a Vox Ekelectric concert size uke. Needed something quiet for AM practicing while my wife is asleep!

A set of headphones will make that Vox stone cold silent except for string noise. Save the extra money for your next serious uke. Not sure where you are located. Perhaps a uke club would be helpful. Lots of great instructions, tutorials, and videos online. Questionable if you can get a "music shop" guitar teacher that will teach a high level of uke skills, but stranger things have happened. At any rate, you have come to the right place. Those music skills will serve you well.

Last edited:
I'm a complete beginner one week in, with one official 30 minute lesson with a professional guitarist/ukuleleist. I've found once you have the instrument in tune (you can use an electronic tuner on the phone app or a cheapo shop brought one), you can pretty much learn from online with You Tube etc. I do practice twice a day, yes you get sore fingers but that will go in time. It is a very quick instrument to learn - like you I started with a wind instrument - flute.