Tips on getting the hang of consistent strumming

Shepazzi

Reaction score
I'm currently having some issues with getting the hang of the rhythm of strumming. I strum downwards just fine but have trouble getting any sort of reasonable sound coming from the instrument when I try to strum back up. I started using a felty bolo pick because it seems like that is the only thing that allows me to strum upwards without sounding silly. I can barely strum upwards at all without the pick and even with the pick I get out of rhythm because it doesn't feel naturally to me. Any tips on ukulele holding position as well as ways to strum with more easy down and up (and especially if there are better ways without the pick) would be greatly appreciated. I am an absolute novice and started two weeks ago.
.Shep

Are you using just your index finger when strumming or are you using your thumb or all four fingers. It could be a simple technique change is required.

Are you using just your index finger when strumming or are you using your thumb or all four fingers. It could be a simple technique change is required.

Originally I tried using my index finger and it simply felt like I couldn't make a good connection with the strings in general. My index finger seems to catch on the strings frequently... I don't know if I'm just going at it too hard or at the wrong angle... or what.

I'm a total beginner but I have found two things to be very helpful:

a) Strum to the beat of a metronome. You start off at the slowest setting to get both the down stroke and up stroke correct and then speed up.
B) I also found this video about the body mechanics of strumming:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3BbRTARjTg

If you're not using a strap, try one ;)

The very need to "hang onto" your instrument can restrict your ability to play it well!

There are many who seem to cope perfectly well without, clamping the ukulele to the body with the forearm or sitting in some contorted manner, but why struggle?