Barre Chord Technique

JJFN

Reaction score
Although I don't have a problem with barre chords, our DNA causes us to search for a better way of doing things. As of now I place the pointer finger across the fretboard first and then apply the other fingers. I've been practicing placing the middle, ring and little finger first and then barring with the pointer finger. The latter seems to work better with newer chord formations and the former of course is better with the more familiar chord fretting. How do you barre? Any thoughts?

I generally try to put all the fingers down at the same time - that seems to work best for me for both barre and non-barre chords.

Your mileage may vary!

I agree with sopher. I think the optimal way is to place all fingers at once. It wasn't a concerted effort that led to that but rather it just happened over time as I got more comfortable with barring.

I started learning by placing all fingers at once, and now may not do that if I want to hammer on. My philosophy on the left hand is do it 5 thousand times with slow intent, and then things will get more fluid and natural feeling. I don't have to use a lot of pressure with the barring finger and the shapes are much easier now than the first 4,999 times I've tried it.

I also try to rotate my hand ever so slightly so that part of the side of my barring finger is what makes contact with the string. I find that I have less buzzing/muting and a cleaner tone.

After playing guitar for so many years, I got very used to putting down all my fingers at once for bar chords. Only when I'm unfamiliar with the chord will I "finger" it, but it usually doesn't take me long to do them all at once.

Last edited: