PDA

View Full Version : Understanding Keys in Ukulele Playing

Irish Uke Tom
08-15-2015, 02:06 AM
Hi folks,

I'm new to ukulele playing but I love it. I've learnt a few songs and a few major scales. I was wondering if some kind soul could explain keys to me. As in how do I change key? How do I play in a different Key? I'm a bit of a music noob.
I apologise if this is a stupid question - my entire ukulele experience has been a series of eye-opening episodes.

Thanks for your time,

Tom :cool:

k0k0peli
08-15-2015, 03:48 AM
No dumb questions, just dumb answers. In music theory, a 'key' is the tonal (note/chord) center of a piece. A song may be centered around C major, E minor, whatever. Each key has certain chords associated with it and certain common progressions (sequences) of chords. Common progressions in C major are C-F-G7 (basic); and C-Am-F-G7 (turnaround); and C-E-A-D-G (Salty Dog). To change keys, we transpose (move) those chords to the new key.

Suppose a basic song in C is too low for your voice, so you transpose up a whole step to D. Now instead of a C-F-G7 progression, you play D-G-A7. Maybe that key doesn't suit you either. So shift to the key of G major and play G-C-D7. If that doesn't fit, shift to A major and play A-D-E7. THAT is how you change keys!

All these sequences have technical labels based on the intervals, the distances between them. The steps between C (the root note, given Roman numeral I) and F are C-D-E-F so the interval is called a 4th, or IV. Going from C to G are C-D-E-F-G so the interval is a 5th, or V. That basic sequence is 1-4-5 or (technically) I-IV-V. All other keys have the same steps and intervals. In G major the I-IV-V sequence is G-C-D; in D it's D-G-A. Et cetera.

Hope this helps!

Rllink
08-15-2015, 04:23 AM