Frustrated

philrab66

Reaction score
Hi all after a bit of advise/wisdom. I have been playing for around 4 years there has just been a few days I have not picked it up. I am not really into strumming and there is no local group to play with so I like to finger pick and play solos. I try and get a good tone when my nails are in good shape. I have never sight read before I can do it now but it is not automatic. My main frustration is fingering certain chords I guess I have just got the easy ones under my belt and for the life of me can not get hard ones down. For instance 2225 seems way out of my reach I have large hands but there is no way. I just feel I need a new approach anybody got any suggestions or thoughts. Thanks for your time Phil.

I, too, have large hands, glove size X Large. Sure, it is a challenge to squeeze those finger tips into place sometimes. But that comes easier with practice. And that's the "secret," practice.

How to practice: Don't force it. Play for short periods of time. Play several times a day. Keep going over the same simple stuff. Keep a Uke with you when at your computer, or on the sofa, or sitting at the kitchen counter.

Be patient. It will all come together eventually.

Hey Phil, some Guitar players use a "Grip Master" to strengthen their fingers, maybe that helps. Have you tried positioning your thumb differently? This might provide a better angle to reach up there. I also found that it helps practising barre chord inversions up the neck, I do it in front of the Television and use the chords from Pachelbel's "Canon in D". After a while, they started to fit with my hand.

I, too, have large hands, glove size X Large. Sure, it is a challenge to squeeze those finger tips into place sometimes. But that comes easier with practice. And that's the "secret," practice.