Which tuning?

whistleman123

Reaction score
I just started learning uke, but I have a strong background as a horn player in big bands and small jazz combos.
Which tuning would you advise if my goal is to be playing with horn players. After a lot of reading on this wonderful site, Bb tuning sounds like it might be the way to go, but I'm not sure.
Also, should I learn standad C tuning with low G first and then switch, which is what I'm in the middle of now? Or should I take the plunge right away this early on in my uke experience?
Thaks for your insights!

I understand there's "Bb" brass instruments (and clarinets), but the relevant question is, what actual, real concert-pitch key do they play in? If their tunes are predominantly "real" Bb (even if they're notated as C), then yes, a ukulele tuned to make Bb an easy key to play in would be a good idea ... this doesn't necessarily mean actually tuning the ukulele to Bb (whatever that might entail), but choosing an overall tuning wherein the key of Bb has an easy set of chord shapes.

... goes away, fiddles with ukulele and returns ...

Right, the key of A on a ukulele isn't difficult (equates to E on a guitar), so to get to Bb easily on a ukulele, just tune all four strings up one semi-tone and play in "A-shapes", I'd guess this might be termed C# tuning ... or maybe use a capo on the first fret if you want to keep things "standard".

Hope this helps ... if your friends aren't actually playing in "concert" Bb, get back to us with a few more details, I'm sure someone somewhere will be able to help :)

Learn the chord shapes for standard C tuning. Then get a tenor or baritone and the right strings to make it Bb. Then you can play off the trumpet or tenor sax charts and play your C shapes. Magic. :cool:

A cautionary note.