Holding/Strumming

Plane Ignerints

Reaction score
I'm still struggling with holding the uke properly and strumming. I know it will get better with practice, but I don't want to develop any bad habits.

I really enjoy UU's videos on YouTube.

I'm still struggling with holding the uke properly and strumming. I know it will get better with practice, but I don't want to develop any bad habits.

I really enjoy UU's videos on YouTube.

I'm still fairly new to the uke, too, as I have not played for a year. It is tricky at first, especially if you don't use a strap. I don't use a strap. Depending on how im sitting (I rarely stand and play), I generally hold the uke in the crook of my right elbow kind of. It's under my arm, but I feel a balance in that area. The uke generally sits on my chest. When I sit and play on the couch or in my recliner, I generally rest it in my thigh and play, instead of up on the chest.

You just have to try different ways to see what is comfy for you. There isn't really a right/wrong way. You will find that there are also straps and leashes that can help. I've never tried any of those with my uke.

Welcome to UU and thanks for your service to our country.

I tried to see if any of my vids show how I hold my uke, but my camera normally cuts most of my uke out...but there are many of us on UU that have youtube channels and it may help you to check out how different people hold their ukes. You may find a comfy way.

A strap can be very helpful. I have been playing for 6 years, and nobody cares if you play with a strap or not. Most of the top professional ukulele players use a strap.

–Lori

I bought a strap that uses a single strap button on the butt of the uke and ties above the nut.
It has made playing much more enjoyable.
I would strongly suggest a strap. The thicker the strap, the more comfortable it will be.