Radius Fingerboards vs. Non-Radius boards... Opinions

AcousticTones

Reaction score
Well good evening folks :)

I have been considering a new uke, and a number of people here have me now looking at a few different Pono models (thank you all for those suggestions).

And I've noticed that some of their models have radius fingerboards verses standard uke or non-radius fingerboards.

I've been playing guitar for over 30 years, and so all of those years have been based playing on radius fingerboards, but I've never played a uke with a radius board. Do any of you own a uke with a radius fretboard or have spent some time playing one, and have any opinions about ordering a Pono with verses without. Does it really make the neck more comfortable and easier to chord, and if so why aren't more uke manufactures doing it?

Thanks for all your opinions and replies! :)

I have one ukulele with and some without. I don't think about the shape of the fretboard when I'm using each instrument. If I was to order a new ukulele though, and a radiused fretboard was available as an option, I'd go for it just 'cause it was there. That's a good enough reason for people to climb mountains so...

I received my Pono ATSH PC about six weeks ago and I love it. Since I'm an old f#@t with a bit of arthritis, I was really looking forward to the radius fingerboard to assist with chording. However, I haven't found it to be any real advantage. The radius is very mild, the neck is much narrower than a regular guitar and - I'm sorry to say - it hasn't been the great wonder I was hoping for.

However, since you have all that radius experience (which I don't) the lack of any radius might be more important for you.

That said, I think the Pono is a wonderful instrument and highly recommend it. The fit, finish, materials, tone, intonation and appearance are a source of daily joy.