All Thumbs...

Plane Ignerints

Reaction score
I'm going through some of the great videos provide on this site, and as a beginner, I am finding it difficult to get my fingers placed for the E chord and D chord...but if I bar the strings with my thumb it is easier.

Is this the kind of thing that would hold me back later on, or does it fall into the "whatever works" category?

Keep practicing. Eventually the thumb fretting will slow you down (or stop you altogether) and you'll regret not putting in the time.
It's extremely difficult to "un-learn" very bad habits.

I have to agree with Steve. Many people will say "Whatever works - there are no rules", I think that is true if your goal is to learn some chords to play singalongs, but if you want to play more interesting, intricate stuff as you go along, the thumb will get in the way. You will find great players of string instruments who use their thumbs to barre chords and who can play circles around me, but for most of us, the chording thumb should stay behind the neck and never touch a string.

For chords like E, I rotate my hand up slightly to put the headstock in the crook between my thumb and hand. Same for D. Allows for better alignment of three the three fingers I use. Many others use barres.

I am a big fan of movable chord shapes.
Using the simple step method you can start with a C, using your third or fourth finger on the 1st string/3rd fret.
Then simple move the shape down two frets for a D and barre the second fret with your first finger.
Barre the strings on the 2nd fret and place another finger on the fifth fret 1st string.
Move that shape two more frets and you will have an E chord. (barre the 4th fret)
Move it one fret and you have an F.

The steps:
C to D two steps
D to E two steps
E to F one step
F to G two steps
G to A two steps
A to B two steps
B to C one step
(think of the keys on a piano, if you know anything about the piano)

Also, you can do this with other chord shapes too.