Tenor Aquila 88U With Low G String Question

tracedef

Reaction score
Hiya. I've been playing the Aquila 88Us with an unwound low G for Tenor for a few years now .... the whole point of the set is that they come with an unwound LOW G .... Just got a set with correct sku number, correct branding of 88U, but it has a WOUND low G ...... Noooooooooooo! Has anyone else seen this or know if Aquila is doing away with the unwound low G??? Thanks in advance!

Also noticed the rest of the strings were a little of an off red from the other 88u's I have here and they even seemed to be slightly different diameters .... so it looks like I've either gotten a fluke / bad set or they are making changes to the set .... The wound Low G is red as well .... very odd, but leaning towards the set changing ... have pinged the Strings and Beyond to see if they can reach out to Aquila to see what is up ... :)

hello,
yes we done this change because with a unwound string and the upper red series strings the response was unbalanced. In pratise the first three are too brigth than the 4 th unwound. with a red wound strings things are much more better. the single packaged unwound strings are available in the market,
I wonder if our distributors had time to inform all people about these changes
Ciao
Mimmo Aquilastrings Italy

hello,
yes we done this change because with a unwound string and the upper red series strings the response was unbalanced. In pratise the first three are too brigth than the 4 th unwound. with a red wound strings things are much more better. the single packaged unwound strings are available in the market,
I wonder if our distributors had time to inform all people about these changes
Ciao
Mimmo Aquilastrings Italy

Pity they did this. I liked the reds mainly for the look (rather than the sound) on certain instruments. The sound was satisfactory. If the unwound low-G is history, so is my further purchase of reds.