PDA

View Full Version : Home Recording and the Ukulele

martinfan
08-28-2015, 03:00 AM
I have the kind of voice that if you heard me do a solo in a bluegrass jam on "Will the Circle Be Unbroken" you would not remember me afterwards. I can pretty much hit the notes, but that is it.

I am a young WWII vet baby. My father had me much later in life, and as you could imagine, I did not have him when I entered young adulthood and had children of my own. It is an acute loss in life. I have so many questions for him.

In this vein, I consider that I am now a young grandfather and I have passed on my love of music, as a hobby, to my kids and now they are asking to help with their kids.

Home recording is not only a lot of fun, but leaving recorded songs for my kids and grandkids is something really special. Just yesterday, in the car, I played a couple of songs I poorly recorded with my two youngest (now teens) when they were just 3 and 5 years old! They loved it!

I use a Tascam (I upgraded from the Tascam DP 004 to the 008ex) and have now added ukulele to these funny, silly and most amateurish songs. Adding in the ukulele has given it a really nice filling sound, but I intend to do some soloing on it, including some light-touch leads on the Pono. It makes for a rich, and different sound.

"Polly Wolly Doodle" type songs. So far, I have:

1. Acoustic Guitar and vocals
2. Ukulele
3. Merlin (I used to have a 6 string banjo but I did not like it and am looking to replace this sound with uk-bass)
4. Acoustic Bass
5. Some lead on the acoustic, including slide (very rough)
6. Harmonica
7. Percussion including shakers, wood block, triangle, tambourine, bongos, played by kids)
8. Flute (wife) on Christmas songs