I'm stumped! Need help!

whistleman123

Reaction score
I'm new to uke, but not to music & performance in general. My short term goal is to comp and sing with a little linear melodic stuff in the middle for interest.
Here is where I'm stuck. First, where can I find some formulas for ukulele intros and endings? Second, is there any resource for uke tabs of the swing and jazz stadards in their original keys?
The majority of vids I watch online are "either/ or". Either just chord solos or just comping the chages but without intro and endings.
I would like to work up a repertoire of standards that are polished performance pieces.
Any resource suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks

I'm not sure you want a formula approach to your linear melodic solos. In my humble opinion the formula approach becomes stale and boring quickly. Instead I would start with the melody line and improvise to taste. Intro can be as much or as little of the melody as fits the song and the day you are playing it. Same with the ending. Toss in a surprise here and there to keep it all interesting, but don't fall into a rut (for example, a sub-dominant ending chord every time). Listening to your favorite musicians playing live can be a great inspiration. Not that you copy their style or create a formula based on their performances, but more that these favorites already resonate with your creative side and in learning from these musicians you will develop your own unique musical voice.

Good luck. Can't wait to hear what others have to say on this very interesting topic.

You say you're not new to music and performance in general; is there any reason that you can't make up intros/outros yourself and then apply them to the ukulele? Swing and jazz music, while having a couple standard "formulas," really don't rely a lot on true structure, which is why you can listen to something like Autumn Leaves from umpteen artists and get something completely different each time.