Settling period for U bass strings?

bunnyf

Reaction score
sorry if this has been asked but my search didn't find a thread. Do the Aquila bass strings hold a tune from the get go or is there a stretching period? Mine seem to go flat quickly but I'm new to the u bass and don't know what's normal for rubbery strings.

Think I found an old string thread that answers some of my questions about settling. It sounds like bass strings aren't quite as stabile as uke strings in holding their tuning. I have the white thunder guts and apparently folks are saying that these are considered relatively stabile

I never liked the Aquila Thunderguts, way too sticky for me and after short while, they got dents where I played the most. I've replaced them with Road Toad Pahoehoe, which take longer to settle in, but to me sound and feel much better and do not dent. I've also recently used the new Kala metal wound strings that I also like.

KohanMike, thanks for the reply. I just gave my husband a UBASS for his birthday and it came with the A. white Thunderguts. He played regular bass in a band when he was younger (Fender usually with flat wounds). He said it make take a little time to adjust his technique to these rubbery strings (it seems like his attack is a little too aggressive) also, he's rusty. But his main question was whether these strings ever stay in tune or will he have to tune up every time he picks the UBASS up. I found it interesting to hear that there are now wound strings for UBASS (never seen them at jams). Might be something a conventional bass player would find more familiar. He's not hating the rubbery ones, just finds them weird and a little annoying having to retune so frequently. The onboard tuner is a little small for his old eyes. I told him I'd leave one of my Snarks clipped onto his headstock for now. He said since your on UU forum reading all the time, please ask for him whether this retuning problem goes away..hence the post.