How to prevent uke from slipping?

Celluke

Reaction score
I play classical guitar and have just started playing the ukulele. I'm finding it much harder to hold than the guitar, which sits firmly on the left knee when using a footstool, and the ukulele keeps slipping. It doesn't help that it is a shiny, painted Makala Dolphin. Consequently, I'm finding that I'm getting an ache in my shoulders and back (at least I'm assuming this is what's causing it as I didn't have it before!) from the effort of keeping it in place, especially when using tabs.

Any advice from anyone would be gratefully received!

Look up how to hold ukulele on the internet. Lots of info (I am not an expert so I am referring you to google!). That being said, I had a hard time holding my Makakla Shark, too, even sitting down. I just got a Mainland Mango Uke and it is easier to hold. Same size uke, shiny surface. Weird.

Look up how to hold ukulele on the internet. Lots of info (I am not an expert so I am referring you to google!). That being said, I had a hard time holding my Makakla Shark, too, even sitting down. I just got a Mainland Mango Uke and it is easier to hold. Same size uke, shiny surface. Weird.

Thanks, I've already googled but still finding it slips!
Perhaps I'll try a strap.

It takes awhile (at least for me) to learn to hold it so it doesn't slip, but I think I'm getting better . . .

Thanks, I've already googled but still finding it slips!
Perhaps I'll try a strap.

If you're handy with a drill, you can buy an endpin strap button for $2 online, and drill a hole to install it

Otherwise any local music shop that sells and does work on guitars should be able to sell and install one for you for ~$10-15 or so, it takes less than 5 mins if done properly and does not require a Masters Degree in Luthery to perform the installation.