3D printing a Ukulele

bugjuiceyup

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am an intern at a 3D printing company in Marietta, GA and I have a couple of questions about the Ukulele I am designing.

I am using 123d design, an easy to use free software, if anyone is interested.

Here are my questions:

How exactly is the saddle attached to a typical ukulele?

How tall, in mm, are the nut and saddle on a sopranissimo ukulele, or does the type of ukulele even matter?

How tall are the frets of a ukulele in mm?

Does the sound hole size matter much? My ukulele is in the shape of an animal, and the soundhole is the eye and mouth, with an iris and eyelids on the eye. Does the fact that I have an irregular shaped soundhole affect the sound?

I will have more questions as my project continues, so I thank yall in advance for helping me.

If anyone has questions about 3D printing don't be afraid to ask, and when I eventually print her out I'll post pics. I might even sell the file for like....$5 or less. If she turns out well, that is.

Again, thank you for your responses!

Do a search of these forum pages - all you need to know has already been published MANY times here. Having said this you'll get lots of conflicting advice and if you are like most who ask these questions, you'll ignore it anyway and do your own thing... sigh :(

Look up the Ukulele plans here for your dimensions.... http://www.grellier.fr/plans.php?lang=en Bridge height and string spacing is the same for any size.
Fret sizes can be found here.... http://www.stewmac.com/Luthier_Tools/Tools_by_Job/Fretting/Stewart-MacDonald_Fretwire/ Most ukes use narrow or medium size wire
The saddle is typically just placed in a slot on the bridge. Maybe a drop of glue to hold it