Australian dollars and UAS!

Bao

Reaction score
Just a little whinge

My fellow aussie UU members will agree with me that buying nice ukes or even strings overseas at this time will be so bad :(

I was thinking of buying a baritone ukulele for 460 US but converted to Australian, it became 650!!

My family is telling me to wait until our aussie dollar is better but UAS has gotten me good :(

EDIT: Perhaps searching for aussie builders is a better option like everyone has said. I'm new to the custom game so I've only ever heard of the big ones and bruce wei at this point :S

Last edited:
Yep. It's a nightmare now. Seriously Bao, you could be waiting two or more years. The Aus dollar won't be going up against the greenback anytime soon if what all the economists are saying is correct. The good times are over! Looks like I'm on the laminate train and buying from local shops from here on in, sad as it is. :(

Yeah, I understand your problem. Things are even worse this side of the Tasman.

There are the two obvious options: wait until the A$ recovers somewhat,
or bite the bullet, buy the baritone, and ease your UAS.

Of course there is also a plan C, you could buy a Maton concert uke. Being made in Australia it would be unaffected by the exchange rate.

Of course there is also a plan C, you could buy a Maton concert uke. Being made in Australia it would be unaffected by the exchange rate.
Fair point. Only problem is they feel and sound like crap. :p

On the flip side, it did allow me to purchase an Australian built ukulele at a very lovely price! (At least until customs hit me like a truck!)

Two or more years?! Boy, what a time we're in :(

I'll probably have to just bite the bullet because the baritone I want will be a custom bruce wei (Like my current custom tenor; which is still going strong and sounding brilliant!) as an early birthday present to myself :cool: