i need to let my nails grow

lacerveza

Reaction score
when ive seen pros like jake and aldrine i've noticed that they have long nails on the thumb and pointer,BUT i bite my nails.apart from putting rat poison on my fingers, you know the rest

Someone told me I needed long nails to play guitar and uke once. Now I have a box of 20d's I don't know what to do with.

sorry for sounding sarcastic

uhhhhhh, don't bite your nails???

Just make sure to not let them grow out too long. The tone is a lot more balanced if they're short. Nails just make tremolos and playing easier. t compensate length for tone is the challenge. See if you can find your comfort zone.

I used to bite my nails too... but ever since I started playing the ukulele I grew my nails... I grew my thumb nail out but now I just need my pointer nail to grow out.

Cut them REALLY short and learn to use the pads of your fingers. Works fine for me. Nails are a liability.

Just make sure to not let them grow out too long. The tone is a lot more balanced if they're short. Nails just make tremolos and playing easier. t compensate length for tone is the challenge. See if you can find your comfort zone.

Alrdrine, you should make a video fingernail seminar or something, even if only to say "IT'S NOT THAT COMPLICATED FOR CRYING IN A BUCKET!!!"

My strings keep wearing my fingernails down painfully far and I wonder if it's because I have weak nails or because I'm strumming too hard?

And I would love some pointers on learning to tremolo with your fingers... I haven't found a technique that feels like it would work even after practicing for a while.

Anyway... put clear nail polish or superglue on your nails... People have told me to do that to help protect them from breaking while playing, *and* they'll help you keep from biting your nails.