Kamaka HF3 vs Ko'olau T100

blodzoom

Reaction score
I've been playing for a few months now. In my area, I get limited opportunity to get my hands on really nice ukes so my experience is limited.

I currently play a $100 Lanikai, which was enough to get me hooked but I'm jonesin' for something nicer.

My local store has two really nice tenors that I'm considering grabbing (one of, not both). One's a new HF3, the other is a slightly used (excellent condition) T100. I've handled and played both but it's hard to get apples to apples comparison because one is tuned with a low G. They're both koa and beautiful and the difference in price isn't enough to sway me either way. The T100 has a radiused ebony fretboard that I like the look of but at my current level, I can't tell if it affects playability

Does anyone have experience with both of these or any opinions in general on used vs new or radiused/ebony fretboards?

Dont have any epic insight to offer but either way congrats! Dont think you can make a "wrong" choice here.

ive not played a radiused fretboard but seems like i see a lot of positive comments about them here on UU

Both are very high end, high quality ukuleles, the old "can't go wrong with either" applies here.

It really will boil down to personal preference, which feels right to you and which do you absolutely love the look of, seriously. The one that you are visually drawn to, the one you just want to hold is the one for you.

A biased view of my own, I would buy the Ko'olau if I liked the look of it. That is a custom made uke so the set up should be better and closer attention paid to every little detail. But if the Kamaka spoke to me I won't hesitate,:)confused yet!!!

Good luck