It just doesn't sound right??

kansaman

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to the uke and play no other instruments so here's my issue. I can play white sandy beach and do the strum d,d,u,u,d pattern and it sounds like it does on the youtube video I watched, no problem.
But when I use the tab sheets I have gotten for other songs and I play them, I can hear it but everyone else can't hear the tune in what I'm playing. This is frustrating as I thought I was doing everything right and these are pretty simple songs like, "you are my sunshine", "king of the road", "over the rainbow", etc... I'm not sure what to correct to make these sound better.
I'm playing on a Lanikai LU-21 which I got at a local music store for $80, which I don't really know if this is a good starter uke or not either. I tune it everyday with a chromatic tuner so I think everything is good there.
Any help would be greatly appriciated!

Charles :confused:

Hi Charles. :shaka:

Well your uke is easily good enough for a starter instrument. It might benefit from a bit of a set-up to make sure the strings aren't too high etc, but that's true of nearly all ukes from the lower price ranges (and many from the higher). You could ask in your local guitar shop about set-ups.

As for your playing, are you mostly strumming chords? If that's the case, and you know the song you're strumming, then you'll probably be able to "hear" the tune as you strum. Other listeners, especially non-musicians, might not always be able to identify a song from chords alone.

Also, many beginners might find that their rhythm is a little less than perfect in the early stages. It's amazing how much a shaky rhythm can conceal the tune! Do you do your exercises with a metronome or backing tracks? If not then I totally advise buying a metronome and using it lots.

When you strum, make sure you keep that up-down motion going. When there's a beat of rest when you're not hitting strings, still keep that regular up-down going on.