first uke - kala ka-st or ka-t

blueskyuke

Reaction score
My first post here. I'm a pianist but have always wanted to learn the guitar. Then I was introduced to the ukulele and really like the sound of it. I was trying to decide between a baritone vs tenor, but now leaning towards a tenor ukulele. I like the brighter (and seemingly lighter) sound of the tenor. I've been reading quite a bit here and I'm now trying to decide on either the kala-st (solid spruce top) vs the ka-t from MGM. I'm looking for something under $200. Is it true that the ka-t has a laminent top? I would have to order this online and trying to figure out how the two ukes compare. Or if there are other ukuleles I should look at before order. My friend just purchased a Lanikai baritone ukulele. I was hoping to learn from him. But now I'm not sure I can do that since the fingering would be different between the tenor and baritone (is that right?) Any help would be appreciated.

Welcome to Ukulele Underground :D

I would think most people would agree that a that a Tenor would be a better starting point than a baritone. It is just more commonly used.

I am not familiar with the ukeleles you are considering getting but I would recommend shooting MGM an email or even calling. He would definitely be able to explain the differences to you.

Then if you need some more help after that then ask away on the forums.

Daniel

The KA-ST is a solid top laminate body. The KA-T is all laminate.
I have played both and own the KA-T it was my first Tenor and I wasnt sure I was going to like the size (I'm a Soprano player) so I took the less expensive route it plays nice and sounds good for the $$$.
It's not a KoAloha or even a Pono by any means and the Kala ASMT (All Solid Mahogany Tenor) does sound better Than the KA-T but I have no regrets.

The Spruce will make it sound brighter but that will also depend on the strings you are using.