Pono Ebony Deluxe Tenor

Gcow55

Reaction score
Hi all, I've been browsing the message board for a few months now, and finally decided it was time I posted something. Anyway, I'm in the market for a new midrange tenor ukulele, and I've been leaning towards Pono. While I would prefer koa, I've noticed Pono discontinued their koa models. This being the case, their ebony deluxe model caught my eye. Particularly, the one with the cutaway and passive pickup. I am curious to know if anyone has any experience with these models (or ebony as a tonewood in general) and what he or she thinks of it. How does it sound? What would you compare the tone to? Would you recommend it?

Also, if you know where I could find one in stock, that would be awesome.

-Greg

I don't know about that Pono but if your looking for koa, for a great value, Big Island Ukulele.The Honus are a fantastic uke and their prices are great as wel( around $500.00 for a traditional tenor with case)l. If you want a less expensive alternative, Kala's Acacia line is a great value as well.

I don't know about that Pono but if your looking for koa, for a great value, Big Island Ukulele.The Honus are a fantastic uke and their prices are great as wel( around $500.00 for a traditional tenor with case)l. If you want a less expensive alternative, Kala's Acacia line is a great value as well.

I've actually been looking at Honus as well. MGM just recently added some really beautiful Honu tenors that have caught my eye. I wish I could find more reviews on those as well. Honus look like they are thinner than other ukes, so I'm afraid the tone will be thin as well. But, I could be wrong. I am also interested in how the pickup sounds on the Honu.

I have been looking into honu tenors and i have read they are a bit thin sounding and low on the volume, but good for recording. I've had a koa pono and it was excellent. Anyone know if those acacia tenors will come with pickups?