Questions on Kamaka with pickup...

Rod

Reaction score
Well it's time to pick up a new Ukulele and Scotty's music in Kalaheo has a Kamaka tenor available. However, it already has a passive pickup installed. I have never used a pickup before and wondering what the benefits and/or disadvantages of buying an ukulele with a pickup?

I do not have any immediate plans to play in front of larger groups where an amp would be needed. Would it still be a good idea to go ahead and get it for the future?

Is there any difference in sound with a pickup installed and not plugged in vs. the same ukulele with no pickup installed?

I understand there are a variety of different pickups available. Should I find out what kind is already installed? Are there any recommendations on one's to get and one's to stay away from?

Thanks for looking and your help,
Rod

Last edited:
Hey Rod, just my theory on acoustic instruments with pickups in general. If you ever think you'll want a pickup, you might as well have it installed at the factory (i.e. it's already in there). That way you aren't risking the instrument by having it installed after market (in which case the tech needs to drill a hole in the instrument...which any good tech should be able to do...but I wouldn't let just anyone do it).

I actually don't have electronics in any of my instruments, I prefer to use a condenser mic. Though I mainly play guitar at gigs. But, I am thinking of getting my next ukulele with a pickup already installed for convenience. I find it rather difficult to get a good live sound just micing a ukulele given the lower level of volume it generates.

Bottom line, I'd say go for the Kamaka with the passive pickup. It certainly won't hurt having it. As far as active vs. passive, there are numerous direct boxes you can run your passive pickup into to get the eq control and response of an active pickup.

Hope that helps,

-John

here's my take on pickups so far.