Tiple: What Kind of Music/Playing Style?

Rtnrlfy

Reaction score
I picked up an Ohana tiple a few weeks ago in a spate of UAS. I love it, and I love the clangy steel string sound, but I'm a little stumped as to what style of playing and/or music might best suit it. I'm more of a fingerstyle player than a strummer, but fingerstyle doesn't really seem to suit it. (I can just about manage fingerstyle on a 12-string guitar but the three string courses throw me off a bit on the tiple.)

So my question for other tiple owners is: for what kind of music or playing style do you use your tiple?

Thanks in advance for all suggestions/ideas.

Lesley

The coordinator of our music club on campus graciously lets me play his vintage Cincinnati made tiple on occasion. I like to do chord melody songs. Christmas carols sound awesome on it.

I've been a fingerpicking guitarist for a long time, on 6- and 12-strings. I'm flatpicking a lot now too since I got into mandolins more recently. My tiple flummoxed me at first because of the jangly imbalance of the top courses -- taking a melody across from the deep eEe to the thin aa just did not work for me.

Then inspiration struck: all other courses are in octaves so the top course should be too! My tiple is now in gG-cCc-eEe-Aa and it is much more smoothly melodic with much less jangle. My folk-blues, folk-jazz, OTM, rabid-retro picking has greater depth than on lesser instruments.

With the top course in unison the tiple is an interesting rhythm instrument for ensembles. In octaves, it's a unique chord+melody vehicle suitable for solo playing. And it works well flatpicked / crosspicked. Like a 12-string guitar, it becomes a portable orchestra. That's my take.

Last edited:
Hmm - what string changes did you make in order to make the switch to all octave courses?

Thanks!
Lesley

Hmm - what string changes did you make in order to make the switch to all octave courses?