newbie here, ukulele help please

imallama

Reaction score
hey, i just joined the forum and was wondering about what ukulele to get. i play piano and guitar. i don't know if that helps or means anything. i played an ukulele at a friends place recently and he had the lanikai ck-teq or something like that and i found it really enjoyable and easy to play, which is why i am now looking for an ukulele.

being a college student i'm kind of on a budget, and was wondering what would be the best deal for the money. i talked to mgm and he said that i should get a tenor ukulele and recommended the kala ka-t. i was trying to decide which one to get though, the lanikai lu-21t, kala ka-t, or the makala mk-t. are there any other brands out there than i skipped or should look into? originally i wanted to keep the price below $50, but after talking to Fred Miu and looking on ebay, found out that i couldn't one for less than $100 (except the mk-t...but i don't really like the way it looks.) what would you guys recommend and why? thanks!

i dont know as much as some other people here.. but if i were you.. i would check out Kala Makala Tenor Ukulele i had one for my first 3 months of ukulele playing.. 79 dollars new.. maybe be able to find cheaper used.. but it stayed in tune all the time.. and i fell right in love with the ukulele! it worked well for me last summer.. i wish i still had it! check it out here..

then after you see if you want to stick with it.. look up MGM on ebay.. and move to better brand.. and use the Makala as your kick around uke..

this worked for me.. if you go watch my first ukulele video.. you will here that uke.. its my cover of a dylan song..

Both the Kala and Lanikai are mahogany and I've read a lot of favorable comments on the LU-21T. IMO, both would be a great entry level instrument for the money. It really comes down to sound, playability and comfortablility. You might wanna see this thread for other info.