Picks - What materials work for the uke?

Mivo

Reaction score
I don't think I want to use picks regularly, but I'd like to explore various sound types and widen my sonic horizon a little.

Besides felt and leather picks, which plectrum types and materials are suitable for fluorocarbon strings? Also, how thin should they be? I'm looking at some picks made from buffalo horn that are described as being soft -- is that the kind of soft I'm looking for?

I have zero experience with plectrums. (Other than briefly trying felt ones when I first started out, but I quickly lost the thing!)

Do not fret over wearing out composite strings with picks. Strings suffer more by fingertips grinding them against frets -- repetitive wear in one location. I use all sorts of flatpicks on nylon and Nylgut strings and have broken none yet. I would advise against cutting picks from tin cans. ;) Otherwise, apply thick or thin nylon or teflon or bone or shell or whatever. No need to go soft unless you want a soft sound.

+1 for the wedgie picks. I have tried all kinds including leather, felt and plastic. To me the wedgies are the best sound on the uke.

I agree with the other recommendations for Wedgies. But I also occasionally like a Dunlop thumb pick or a Fred Kelly finger pick (for broken nails).

For strumming, if I want to use a pick rather than finger/thumb, I use a Jumping Cow "artificial felt" pick, as opposed to "real felt", which I don't like nearly as much. For melody work I use a thin Jim Dunlop nylon pick, an 0.46mm on my soprano, an 0.60mm on my tenor and an 0.73mm on my baritone.

It may seem "picky" (pun intended) but I really believe I prefer the sound of thin picks on thin strings and vice-versa :)

I've yet to try a "wedgie".

Obviously YMMV ;)

I like the Wedgie rubber picks. http://www.wedgie.com/rubbers.html

I have to buy one of these......just for the name.