The 3 Ks(+1), whats the story morning glory

the flat tire

Reaction score
So I finally got the big three in my greedy not so little hands!
Kanile'a, Kamaka, and KoAloha.
Wait.
Koolau.
I'm working on that one.
Anyways, was it worth it?
What's the big deal?
Will my lowly Kala stand up to the big boys?

DSC_2908.jpg

Let's go from left to right:

The Kanile'a is from 2013 according to the serial no. so it's not representative of their current technology.
Or whatever.
I would have to say, it has the best finish.
All my ukes are gloss by the way.
Kanile'a, for what its worth, I think has the nicer woods.
The finish is nice and smooth. No problems there. This is one the deluxe jobs with the sand in the logo and the markers; nice touch, I used to live in Kailua.
Fit and finish is first rate, sort of.
The tuners were installed just slightly off so they are not symmetrical on the head.
I have an art degree, I can see that sort of thing.
Otherwise, great!
For some reason it plays small, like its not a tenor.
I'm not talking sound here, I think sound is all relative to the user.
I will say it took me six sets of different strings to find one set I liked.
Now it rocks. No small sound here.

Oh yes, the Kamaka.
Brand spanking July 2015 new! July 17th to be exact.
Isn't that cute? it has a birthday!
Took me almost five months to find this one.
I've also handled more than a few so trust me when I say they are all pretty much the same finish wise.
Which is pretty darn good!
It has the thickest neck of the bunch, but not thick like thick thick.
If you know what I mean.
I'd measure it but I'm too lazy to bring out the mike. Well okay, I almost did, but laziness prevailed.
Finish comes in a close second only because the gloss is very thin, not glass like the Kanile'a. Which actually may be a good thing.
Kamaka, in all their wisdom only makes two versions of the tenor, the basic and the deluxe. I'm still waiting for the slot head etc.