Cracked bridge

bunnyf

Reaction score
What can you expect to pay for a cracked bridge replacement and the removal of a bad pick guard on an old tenor guitar. I'm not handy and I don't have a luthier locally. Can I rely on an average guitar shop to do this kind of repair?
Sorry mods maybe this isn't the right spot to post this... Move if necessary

Last edited:
Another question. Would you replace it right away, if you see the crack but it's not lifting or would you wait?

Cracked bridge is not going to fix itself.

I've no experience with cracked bridges on a ukulele but have had two guitar bridges repaired. The 1st by a local hack. A workman like repair; competent if you are satisfied that the bridge was replaced in the same place as the old one. Cosmetically lacking.

The 2nd guitar, worked on by technicians more locally advertised, made more of an effort to find a factory replacement and clean up their work beyond locating the saddle where it belonged. Their work left no signature and I was much more satisfied aesthetically.

The 1st guitar is a Yamaha FG-75. The 2nd is a Simon & Patrick ProFolk. In the long run, I am satisfied with both repairs. The FG-75 was done some years ago for about $100. The ProFolk in 2014 for $164.

Thanks for the info Doug. It's not a great guitar but I'd like to play it occasionally. Was hoping not to have to spend too much. Im not sure if I can get a great repair done where I live. There's like one shop within 50 miles and it's very rinkydink. Hardly any guitars for sale, just a little really low end stuff and not known for doing repairs. I'm not a DYIer but I hate to spend a lot to have it repaired poorly.