thickness sanding

mikeyb2

Reaction score
So I've finally finished my jigs and made a thickness sander driven by my lathe, and started to attack my first guitar set. The guitar sets are about 4.5mm thick and need to come down to about 2mm. The sanding drum set up has a 3" diameter drum loaded with 80 grit green paper and works pretty well, providing I use light passes. It takes a long time and lots of passes, so is this normal? Is patience required or a lower grit paper such as 40 or 60? Thanks, Mike.

I'm no expert, but with my home built drum sander, fitted with 80 grit paper, it does take many passes to get the job done. Since buying a plane, I now use this to take off most of the wood, then finish with the sander.

Bob

Thanks Bob, I've changed to 60 grit which should help a little but it looks like a bit of patience is needed then. Mike

Thickness sanders are exactly that. Sanders. Whether they are belt driven or like you home made jobbie. It takes light passes, and lots of them especially if the timber is prone to burning or clogging belts. You'll know when you get one of those species.

I'd follow Bob's recommendation in your instance to go with a plane to start.

You need to be careful about going too coarse with the sandpaper. That grit goes pretty deep and as you sneak up to the final thickness you actually go past it to get to the bottom of those deep scratches.

Funny, I used a setup like that until I got tired of the noise and mess, then decided to build my drum sander! The router sled system is also quite slow compared to using a plane. I managed without a plane for a long while, then one day I saw the light and now my plane is the first thing I reach for when shaping wood. It's quick, quiet and no dust!

Bob

thanks Allen, I'll experiment with planing and take care with the 60 grit. It was my intention to get down to about 2.5mm and then change to 120 grit until almost there and then use an orbital sander with 220 to finish off.