Cedar Tops & Durability - Issue or Not?

etzeppy

Reaction score
I'm trying to help my wife pick out a new tenor. She's been playing a Kala laminate and wants to graduate up to a nice solid wood model. She likes the online sound clips of several Pono's with cedar tops. However, as a guitar player myself, I know that cedar is soft and can have durability issues. She doesn't want to get a really nice Pono and then watch it get dinged and scratched easily. However, that might not be big issue for finger-style ukulele. Other options she is considering are Pono Acacia and Kanile'a Koa.

I'm looking for feedback from the experts. I don't want to make an issue of something that is not generally a problem.

Thanks

Keith

keith

i'm not an expert and am a bit put off with the cedar thing and would probably find a spruce or hardwood top i like as well. that said i wouldn't let the durability issue stand in the way. first thing let the instrument take its dings and get character. you're not going to beat in the same way a guitar gets its abuse.
i am probably a hardwood top guy. figure out who your wife is and get a good instrument without a second thought.

figure out who your wife is

If you hadn't figured this out by the time you got married this could be a real voyage of discovery for you.