Should newbie string baritone GCEA?

MARKbOC

Reaction score
Im a relative beginner and am considering adding a baritone to the herd because I really like the fuller sound. i'm thinking about stringing it with GCEA so that Im not learning two different things at once.

i would EVENTUALLY like to learn the baritone tuning but thought it might be something I can go back to after i've become a little more proficient. i know that its not exactly rocket science converting the chords but i'm still working on muscle memory and speeding up the time between seeing a chord and fingers being in place so i figured removing ANY additional thought process would help at this point.

does this strategy make sense to anybody but me? would love any insight/thoughts

Sure you can tune it to a C tuning. A chord shape is a chord shape. G tuning and C tuning use the same shapes just ending up with different chords. Tune it to a C tuning if you want, learn the shapes and when you're ready tune it to a proper G tuning.

I always found a bari tuned to C rather thin sounding. If I want a bari in C, I either change the shape of the chord or put a capo on the 5th fret. Good luck, main thing is to play and have fun.

I bought some Aquila "GCEA Baritone" strings and put them on my baritone a few months ago. My baritone went from a being booming projector to a thin sounding dud.

I don't think the new strings stayed on for more than an hour. I don't know the baritone chords, so I can't really play it tuned DGBE, but it wasn't worth having a baritone that sounded like that. At least it sounds nice when I strum GCEA chords shapes on it now.

I hope you have better luck!